Sunday, February 15, 2015

Jeff Gordon Wins Daytona 500 Pole

Jeff Gordon, driver of the #24 Drive To End Hunger Chevrolet, his crew chief, Alan Gustafson, Jimmie Johnson, driver of the #48 Lowe's Chevrolet, and his crew chief, Chad Knaus, pose with the Daytona 500 Pole Award and Front Row Award after qualifying for the pole position and front row for the 57th Annual Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on February 15, 2015 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (February 14, 2015 - Source: Sarah Glenn/Getty Images North America)
In his final Daytona 500, Jeff Gordon claimed the pole in the first-ever group qualifying session for NASCAR's biggest race of the season.

And afterwards, just about every driver except Gordon and his Hendrick Motorsports teammate and second-qualifier Jimmie Johnson went away angry after a chaotic and anxious qualifying session.

In the third and final qualifying round, Gordon and Johnson timed it just right, leaving pit road with one minute left in the five minute session, enough time for a single lap.

Gordon qualified at 201.293 miles per hour, the first time the Daytona 500 pole speed was above 200 mph since Bill Elliott's record run of 210.364 mph in 1987. Johnson's speed was 201.135 mph. (FOX Sports)