Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Tony Stewart Named Driver of the Year By Media

Per Scene Daily, Tony Stewart was named the 2011 Driver of the Year by a 19-member panel of journalists and broadcasters.

The Driver of the Year Foundation presents the award to the driver its panel votes as the best in all of motorsports. Any driver competing in a U.S.-based series or a U.S. driver competing overseas is eligible as long as the vehicles raced have four wheels.

Stewart, who won the 2011 Sprint Cup title, got 15 votes while his Cup challenger, Carl Edwards, got one vote. Also getting one vote was IndyCar Series champion Dario Franchitti, World of Outlaws champion Jason Meyers and top fuel drag racer Del Worsham.

Source: SceneDaily.com